Administration Team

Office of the Superintendent
Superintendent Dr. Pamela Ewell leads the district to ensure Benton Community School District provides "Quality Education for a Lifetime of Learning." The superintendent reports directly to the Board of Education. 319-228-8701, x-1503

Associate Superintendent
The Associate Superintendent, Dr. James Bieschke, is the School Business Manager overseeing all of the financial operations of the district and the Director of Building and Grounds overseeing buildings, grounds, and maintenance. Also serving as the Board of Education Secretary, Dr. Bieschke reports to the Superintendent. 319-228-8701, x-1502

Curriculum & Instructional Services
Anna Selk is the Director of Curriculum and Instructional Services as well as Teacher Leadership at Benton Community School District. Mrs. Selk provides instructional resources, leadership, and professional development training to support continuous learning for our staff ensuring all students receive top-notch education opportunities. 319-228-8701, x-1512

Rob Arnold, High School Principal, 319-228-8701, x-1350

Craig Huegel, Activities Director & Assistant High School Principal, 319-228-8701, -1352

Ryan Junge, Middle School Principal, Student Services Director 319-228-8701, x-1351

Phil Eastman, Norway Intermediate Principal, 319-228-8701, x-2222

Jason West, Atkins Elementary Principal, 319-228-8701, x-4216

Shawn Pfiffner, Keystone Elementary Principal, 319-228-8701, x-3001

All Principals report to the Superintendent.


Food Service Director
Dawn Morris is the Director of Food Service. The Food Service and Child Nutrition Program offer nutritious breakfasts and lunches at every Benton Community School Center. 319-228-8701, x-1119

Human Resources/Business Office
Melody Spence is the Director of Human Resources and Business Services. The Human Resources Department handles recruiting, hiring, and retaining exceptional employees, as well as payroll and accounting. All personnel information can be found by visiting the Human Resources page. 319-228-8701 x-1505

The Director of Technology, Tyler Maschino, equips all 4 schools in the district with their technology needs. Students at the primary level all have access to iPads, and students at the intermediate and secondary levels have access to Chromebooks. Additionally, Mr. Maschino ensures leading-edge learning through software and subscriptions to give our students access to forefront technology. Parents/Guardians also have access to classroom information and grade postings through web-based student information sites. 319-228-8701, x-1200

Benton Community School District's Transportation department provides safe and reliable transportation to approximately 1,600 students daily, covering 342 square miles, including the communities of Atkins, Blairstown, Elberon, Keystone, Newhall, Norway, Van Horne, and Watkins. The Director of Transportation, Tim Lyons, heads the Transportation Department. 319-228-8701, x-1043

Additional Resources

School Resource Officer
Deputy Tyler Brandt is our School Resource Officer. Benton Community School District, in cooperation with Benton County Sheriff Department, ensures we have a School Resources Officer on campus. Deputy Brandt spends time at all buildings in our school district and is a positive, visible presence. 319-228-8701, x-1370